Right/Left boring bars - newbie help needed!

cazclocker

Purveyor of cheese.
Registered
I'm somewhat new to machining, and still always learning new tricks on my little watchmaker's lathe (pictures elsewhere on this forum). In looking at boring bars on MSC's website, I see Left and Right boring bars. I'm assuming the Left/Right designation refers to the cutting action taking place depending on which way the headstock is turning. Of course, my motor is reversible, so I can turn material either way. For normal turning (not boring operations), I prefer to operate with the headstock on my left with the headstock rotating clockwise as viewed from the headstock to the tailstock. But for boring operations I like to turn the other direction because it makes it easier to see what's happening inside the hole being bored.

So how do the "right" and "left" designations line up with the two turning directions of my headstock? Knowing that would make ordering a pre-made one so much easier...so far all I have is one little homemade one.

Thanks in advance...

Left hand boring bars are for running in reverse. tool on the back side of the hole. What lathe do you have. How does the chuck mount? Reson I ask is if the chuck threads on the spindle, It is not recamended to cut in reverse. That said I do bore in reverse just have to take lighter cuts and be verry caefull as the chuck could spin off.:yikes: not a good thing.:nono:

Thanks. My lathe is a Rivett, it's just a WW-styled watchmaker's lathe. And yes, my 3-jaw and 4-jaw chucks both seat into the spindle but are secured with a drawtube. When running in reverse, I check for tightness often.

I still don't know if I should order a right bar or a left bar, though. Does it make a difference?