Replacing Drive Belt on PM-1054V

erikmannie

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter
About a month after I got this variable speed machine, I stalled a 1-1/4” end mill while making a plunge cut in steel sheet. I assume that is where this problem began.

When I first got the milling machine, it’s operation was pretty quiet. After I stalled that big end mill, the machine was noticeably noisier. It still works fine, & I have put at least 300 hours on the machine following the stalled end mill.

I took off the side covers to inspect the belt, and the drive belt, while still operational, should be replaced in order to get back to the original, quieter noise level.

Precision Matthews was very good about supplying me with a quality replacement belt at no charge.

I am a UPS driver, & one of my customers works on heavy equipment (backhoes, excavators, etc.). He is coming out today, and him and I are going to install the new belt together. This is a paid job for him, as it should be, because he has at least 40 years mechanical experience.

After he is gone, I will upload all the pictures that I took, and share what I learned.

Here is the new belt that we will install:

image.jpg

I have seen a couple videos on YouTube of people doing this. The mechanic coming out today has never worked on a knee mill.

Last edited:
If this is the variable speed model with the Reeves drive, and it’s pretty equivalent to the Bridgeport design, better follow the service manual closely. There are a couple of tricks that make the job much easier.

I did this repair at the railroad museum, and sadly I don’t recall all the tips.

We just completed the job, and it took us 3 1/2 hours. The headline is that he would not accept payment! I was fully prepared to pay him hundreds of dollars.

The guy is obviously a mechanical wizard. I took a lot of pictures, and I will upload them now.

The old belt was in bad shape!

0325530B-F22A-47BF-A4D3-44F266571FC7.jpeg