Regrinding carbide inserts

Wheat.Millington

Registered
Registered
Sorry is this is a stupid question - being a beginner I'm wrecking a lot of carbide inserts, including this nice expensive kyocera I recently picked up. This insert cut extremely well until I trashed it. Is this salvagable? Can it be reground on an ordinary stone?

DSC05650.JPG

DSC05653.JPG

DSC05651.JPG

Certainly not with an ordinary stone. A diamond wheel would be needed. Slight defects can be touched up but anything major most likely not. By slight, I mean something like a small chip from the corner that could be addressed by by increasing the corner radius. Your insert looks past that point.

I toss my inserts when they are trashed. That is why I still use brazed carbide. I redress the carbide until it is just a nub. Insert tooling is convenient and on a production environment where time is money, it is more expedient to throw a new insert in than the try to resharpen an brazed carbide or HSS tool. In a hobby shop, the dynamics are totally different.

You can absolutely resharpen carbide inserts but you need a good diamond wheel to do it, like an Accu-Finish machine. I have one and have sharpened and tuned up inserts BUT you cannot refresh a broken off, trashed insert like you show in the pics. The best thing to do is first, figure out why you trashed the insert the way you did and two, buy better inserts. Seco, Iscar, Kennametal all sell CCGT inserts like you're showing but the quality is far better. The Kyocera inserts are commonly not real Kyocera inserts; they're Chinese copies. While they work, they do not work well or for nearly as long.