Question/help about flat leather belt on SB9A

josef

Registered
Registered
When I bought my lathe years ago it had a composition belt of some kind with alligator clips. At a certain point it gave up the ghost and I got a belt from McMaster Carr called a "high speed extended life leather belt" that had a nylon core to reduce stretch. I had no idea what I was doing and made a scarf joint in it and glued it together with Weldwood contact cement. It actually worked for a few years of intermittent use. Finally the glue joint gave up and refused to be re-made.
So I thought I'd try a real leather belt. I had some leather from Tandy that measures about 0.15" thick and I watched a youtube video by ghostses from back in 2012 about lacing the belt. So that's what I did and made a very pretty job of it.
Now the problem is that it doesn't transmit very much power at all. It slips. I can get the thing going by turning the 3-jaw by hand but it has no power. Admittedly I still don't really know what I'm doing. Is there a particular kind of leather I have to use? Is it just a matter of tension? Do I need belt dressing? I have the flesh side of the leather outermost. The smooth side is against the wheels.
I'd like to make the leather work. I could go back to the high-speed stuff and lace it like I did the plain leather. I don't want to use a serpentine or alligator clips.

What do you have against serpentine? They’re low price and work better than leather. The only disadvantage is you have to pop out the spindle. Is that your concern?

I have a 10K with the original endless belt. I'd be inclined to go with a belt from Al Bino (https://albinoindustrialbelting.com/) or a serpentine belt.
If your spindle felts have not been replaced, a serpentine belt is a good choice as you have to pull the spindle to replace the felts anyway.