Question About Shielded Wire

TomS

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I'm working on converting a PM-932 to CNC and need some input on low voltage wire. I've searched eBay, Amazon and several CNC component suppliers on the web and I've found a significant difference in pricing among them for 18/4 shielded cable and 18/4 security wire with a shield wire. I've found security wire for as little as $56.00 for 500 feet including shipping. Shielded cable runs about $1.00 a foot and up. Is there a difference besides price? I've looked but can't find a specific designation for a stepper motor application. I'm not good at electrical/electronics so I may be looking in the wrong places. Any other considerations before I make the purchase besides price?

Thanks

Tom S

The biggest difference between them is likely the insulation voltage rating. the power cable is likely 300volt rated, while the security is probably 30volt, maybe 100v. Therefore, it will depend on your exact setup as to the type of cable that you can use, eg, if you are running your steppers at 24Vdc, you should be good to use the security wire. Anything more than that, and you need the other cable.

You should also check that the security wire has an actual braided/foil shield, as it would be pointless to use it without this feature.

Not all shielded cable is the same.
There are braided shields, wrapped shields and probably others.
Also impacting the price of a cable is the number of strands in each conductor. Higher strand count = higher flexibility.