Problem With Grizzly Rotary Table

Fredb80

Registered
Registered
Good afternoon,
First post. (I am relatively new to this whole metal thing). The subject is the Grizzly H7527 rotary table. I bought one and the first thing I found wrong was the backlash. One full turn of the wheel. Yes. Also, I tried installing one of the indexing dividing plates. I found that there was no way that the indexing pin would extend inward so as to go into any of the holes. Grizzly tech support was very good at answering my query and they sent me a new crank handle with indexing pin but it was the same problem. So they had me send it all back and in one day I received a brand new unit.

Below is a picture of the whole unit. As well as two pictures showing how the indexing pin doesn't reach the dividing plate. I decided to ask for help here because if I asked Grizzly tech again with the same problem on a new unit they would think .... well I don't know what!

I assembled the dividing plate unit as instructed in the manual on page 14. Here they are in shortened form:

1. Remove the crank handle cap screw and special washer. (check)
2. Remove the handwheel and key from the shaft. Tape the key to the handwheel for safe keeping. (check)
3.Insert the dividing plate, counter bores facing out, and secure it with the provided screws. (check)
4. Place the sector arm assembly over the shaft Figure 14). (check)
5. Slide the sector arm spring into the slot on the shaft to hold the sector arms tight against the dividing plate. (check)
6. Install the crank handle with the indexing pin and secure it with the special washer and cap screw (see Figure 16). (check) Note, - The crank handle slot adjusts so the indexing pin sits directly above the hole circle chosen. To ease installation, place the pin in the desired hole circle, then tighten the cap screw. (Unable to do this as the pin would not reach the dividing plate).