Pocket milling

ChipsAlloy!

Active User
Registered
I was wondering how you guys achieve a precise depth when machining a pocket in a part . Of course I'm talking about a job done on a pm932/45 hence the post in this section.

I would venture saying that you use the crank to lower the head (cutter) into the material because I normally raise the knee when at work. But I might be wrong. Is there another technique for these smaller machines ? Like maybe there is a way of using the quill and control the descent ?

I do have the z axis on my dro so I can tell how much I lowered the head with the crank. I guess I am wondering if there is a better way than the one I figured.

I'm trying to avoid doing work so I'll give it a shot, even though I'm no expert (ha!) :)

I'd plunge to 80% of depth with a center cutter using the quill, use a rougher (love 'em!) to get most of the pocket out, then a finisher to end and side mill the pocket to depth and width. Set the quill to depth, lock and go to town :) It's probably not the quickest way to do it, but it should help with chips too.

How deep is the pocket? Within the range of the quill travel?

With my PM45 I use the quill "fine feed" handwheel to plunge with DRO for measurement. It's not a very rigid quill so I try to limit quill extension by lowering the head ahead of time to compensate. I have a DRO for head Z axis also but I find it to be pretty much useless.

Fine feed of the quill... Hmm I will have to check that out using the handwheel. I will try it this evening and see how it goes.

So Using the head crank may not be the way to go for that job. In that case Dark, you might be right the z axis would be pretty much useless.

But for now I have to go to work..

How deep is the pocket? Within the range of the quill travel?

Yes it is about .375" deep in aluminum so well within quill range.