PM-1440GT Accessories?

Beantown

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Hello!

Warning….I’m a newbie. I’ve done a ton of research, but I have nearly zero practical experience with a lathe. My short to mid-range goal is to start the process of learning a craft I have been fascinated with since I was a kid. My long-term goal is to build custom guns and maybe turn this into a side gig to keep me from going crazy when I retire. I’m 43 now and plan to retire at 50…..maybe 55 if I’m still having fun in my day job.

I’m about to pull the trigger on my first and hopefully last lathe. Until earlier today I thought I had made up my mind on the PM-1340GT….but then I was talking to my wife at lunch and she put doubt in my head. The PM-1340GT would “probably” do everything I would ever need, but the PM-1440GT I KNOW would do everything I would ever need. Essentially, she reminded me that I tend to grow out of things quickly and almost always wish I would have gotten the model above I've never been upset about over buying.

Nevertheless, I’m thinking I will go with the PM-1440GT 3PH and VFD conversion route (still researching the VFD and proximity stop stuff). However, I have a few questions in regard to tooling and accessories. I don’t have a mill right now (that will be next) so I need to have everything bolt on. I would like your opinion on what accessories I should buy from Precision Matthew with the machine and what I should source elsewhere.

I’m pretty sure I shouldn’t get the no-name BXA QCTP from PM. I’m leaning towards a Dorian BXA or even a PWT Multifix, but I really can’t seem to find a supplier in the USA. Any recommendations on a QCTP would be awesome. I don’t need the best….just something that would be a good fit for the quality of this machine. It seems like the $199 BXA kit they sell through PM would be a weak link? I can’t see how a $199 kit would even be close to matching the quality of this machine?