[How do I?] Parting Blade Help

zimm0who0net

Registered
Registered
I'm new to using a parting blade and I'm clearly doing something wrong but I don't know what. I've got the blade extended just a bit more than the radius of my part. I feed slow (it's a 6" lathe with a broken crank so I can't go that fast). I'm perfectly square with my QCTP to my chuck. I drizzle cutting fluid on the cut as I'm going. And yet, I get a little bit in and the bottom of my parting blade snaps off. What am I doing wrong?

Incidentally, I'm trying to part a 1/2" steel rod with the brand new (now trashed) P1N parting tool from Shars. Snapped it one way, flipped it around, re-checked everything, fed it in and snapped the other side. Ugh... As you can see from the photo, it's just the very thin bottom part of the tool that snaps off.
E09Z1p6l.jpg ftB0v3Vl.jpg

Why not start with better tooling like Latrobe? Stay away from made in China.

Parting off was one of the things that took me time to get a handle on. Still an issue at times.
I would have as little cutoff blade as required hanging out. I also make sure it is tight! I mean tight.

Will be interested to hear the comments. The blade snapping where it is baffles me unless it is somehow flexing. Is the blade dead flat against the bottom of the tool holder?

I broke my first cutoff blade last week. It is a bit frightening to hear it.

Is your blade holder flat where the thin part of blade sets , could be a high spot.

There is nothing wrong with that parting tool. I have the exact same one from Shars and it parts steel with no issues at all.
I will lay odds your problem is one of three things, tool is not sharpened, tool is too low, tool is being fed to slowly.

Here are the things that you must do:
Sharpen the tool! They are not sharp from the factory, you must grind the edge. Yours looks like it has not been ground.