Noob milling, speed and feed, technique mentors needed

shorton

Active User
Registered
I've had a RongFu RF31 mill for several years. Mostly used it for precision drilling (has a DRO). I have a power feed on X. But when it ocmes to actual milling, I'm a complete novice. I understand feeds and speeds, chipload, etc. How to calculate them anyway. I've looked to S&F calculators, like the Gwizard, but the results I get with it never seem right. It seems to be oriented toward max speed for production CNC environments, but it says if I don't go as fast as it says I'll suffer from rubbing and tool dulling.

My machine is listed as 500-3000 rpm. My power feed will probably go 20ipm full on if I remember right. But it would be good to know speeds I could turn by hand.

Can someone help me get up to speed no pun intended. I have a couple of examples I could use help with, I'll start with this one:

I figure at my lower speeds, cutting alu or plastic most of the time, HSS is better than carbide, and most of my tooling is HSS.

Say I want to mill a .125" slot in 6061 aluminum .125 deep. Normal flat bottom endmill.

For this setup, can someone help me arrive at a decent F&S that won't break the tool? Ideally get max depth of cut. And, forgot to say, what about # of flutes. I need to get some new smaller mills as I've broken the ones I have :) so what's best for my machine, 2, 3, 4 flute?

Often the small end mills break due to poor chip extraction or the aluminum melting to the cutter. Standard 2 flute end mills work fine if you do not push them too hard and use coolant. 2 flute high helix end-mills for aluminum work better since they get rid of the chips faster. Also check out 3 flute end mills. They have almost as good chip extraction as a 2, and they are actually stronger than a 4 flute. The 3 flue center cutting high helix end mills for aluminum are awesome .... crank the rpm's up as high as the machine will go and let er' eat.