(Newbie time) Any way to get a collet chuck on a 1030V?

PrettyHateMachining

Eraser
Registered
Hi guys,

Complete newbie here, I've had my lathe for 3 weeks and have never used or even seen one prior to that. I've been having fun learning and making stuff and I've seen suggestions to get a collet chuck to hold smaller stock and possibly endmills (for some poverty milling) but after a bunch of research I'm even more confused.

It seems the spindle taper is MT4 and I've seen MT4 ER32/ER40 collet holders, but how are the collet holders held into the machine? Or is their purpose not what I'm thinking and these are for milling machines or something?

I also saw that Shars sells an actual 5C collet chuck: http://www.shars.com/5-5c-collet-chuck but it looks like this is just a plain chuck, it would need some sort of adapter plate or backing plate to mount to the 1030V I assume? However I can't find any information as to what mounting plate I need. Hell I can't even find what chuck mounting mechanism this thing actually uses, it just says "Quick change" and things like that.

Long story short, can someone point me in the right direction as far as what I need to buy for my purposes mentioned in the first paragraph above?

Thanks!
Adam

Your lathe uses the three stud mount with the locking ring. You might ask PM if they sell a backing plate for the spindle or perhaps LMS might have one. Then I suggest you mount an ER-40 chuck to it so you can pass stuff through the spindle. MT mounted chucks do not allow for this capability and is, for me, a deal breaker.

Hi Adam, Aha, I see the sickness is starting early with you. Welcome to the happy world of "Tooling"!