Newbie questions on 10k spindle alignment

palada

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Hi all,

I'm completely new to machining, so keep that in mind when I ask silly questions or make false assumptions please.

I bought a 1950s SB 10k at an estate sale this year. Because the previous owner was deceased and I couldn't get history on it, I picked up a guide to renovation on eBay and disassembled it to clean it and replace felts. I followed the manual closely for disassembly and reassembly. It's back together now and everything works.

The problem is that I think the spindle is too far out of true. With a dial test indicator on the flange, I get a variance of .0085 when I turn the spindle. When I put a piece of small round stock in the chuck, I get .0055. As mentioned, I'm no expert, but this seems like a lot to me, even for hobby stuff.

Some questions: this is too much variance, right? Anyone know the cause/solution? Seems like the spindle would have to be egg shaped to measure that way. If it is egg shaped, can it be remediated? Thanks in advance for educating me.

spindle.jpg

Likely there needs to be an adjustment of the thrust bearing on the far end of the spindle.

That flange is just that a flange, has no effect on the chuck.
You could have .050 there and not have an issue.

Likely there needs to be an adjustment of the thrust bearing on the far end of the spindle.
Do you mean the bearing with separate races? How would I adjust that? I don’t find google results for that. or do you mean the nut with the fiber washer? I tightened that until I felt drag on the spindle, then backed off 1/12 turn as my book said.

That flange is just that a flange, has no effect on the chuck.
You could have .050 there and not have an issue.
There’s still .0055 on a bar in the chuck. isn’t that still a lot?

Are you talking end play of the spindle? In other words, movement along the axis of rotation.