Newbie Plunge Cutting Question

edojan

Registered
Registered
Hello folks, my name is Ed, I am a newbie and I live in Canada . I have just got my first milling machine (hi torque 3990 from LMS) and I look forward to learn machining. I have a question about plunge cutting and here is the context: I am installing the DRO and needed to reduce the height of one of the mounting brackets by about 1/2 of an inch (the bracket is made of 0.4 inches thick aluminum)
I used a 1/2 " 2-flute "premium" end mill which came with my machine (HSS / cobalt, made in Korea) and successfully shaved off the metal from one side of the bracket. It took a good 30 min to cut the metal from one side of the braket by shaving a few thousands at a time at about 1000 rpm. But then I grew inpatient and remembered that what I watched a video that clamed that so called plunge cutting was a much better way to remove larger amounts of materials especially when using a non-rigid setup or underpowered milling machines. So I gave it a try on the second side of the bracket. The first two "plunges" were great - the end mill plunged into the aluminium with some chatter but it wasn't excessive. Then on the third "hole" it started developing a very loud screeching sound. The forth plunge I did not complete because the sound is quite loud and there is also chatter. I don't think that this sound is normal and I have tried to change the RPM and lower the feed speed but this made no difference. I have also examined the end mill under the magnifying glass but I seems perfectly fine. Please comment what in your opinion is causing this and what is the best kind of end mills to use for plunge cutting - e.g. would so called roughing end mills be more suitable for the job or is this me who is doing something wrong?

It sounds like there are some places that you can improve your technique. I am sure others will chime in as well.