[Newbie] Newbie Mill-Drill Input questions

shootur44

Registered
Registered
I am new to all of this and I have purchased a Enco 9x20 and got most of the bugs worked out thanks to a fellow member locally , now I looking for different thoughts on bench-top mill-drill .
I have to get a bench top because of weight issues in my workshop building is a wood floor etc . Please give opinions on the round column verses the dove tail machines in the $1200 to $1500 range . I appreciate all input thanks Mike (shootur44)

Never owned either, so take that into consideration. I have used a round column mill, just a little. A employer bought a couple to use as deburr machines. Seemed pretty light to me. These were Enco branded Taiwanese at the time. Probably Chinese these days. from what I have heard and read about them, they are a little limber in the column, and there is nothing to hold your X-Y position if you need to raise or lower the head during an operation. To me that would be a deal breaker. The dovetail machines don't have that issue, and should be much stiffer.

Others who actually own and operate these, both of them, will be weighing in.

If you're looking for a mini mill, Little Machine Shop has a comparison chart that may help.
http://littlemachineshop.com/Info/minimill_compare.php
These are all the Sieg X3 type mills I believe.
If you're wanting something a little bigger, the choices go down a bit and information harder to find.
When I was searching, the general concensus was to stay away from round column mills, especially in the smaller, lighter ones.
That said, I have an old Clausing 8520 which is a round column mill, and said to be "Prized by the Hobby Machinist community". It's a larger knee type mill though, tips the scale at aroung 660# give or take.

1.jpg 3.jpg