Newbie Collet Question

Jon, how does an ER collet get sprung? Serious question. If used properly within the 0.40" clamping range I've never heard one can spring/sprung a collet.

Over tightening and/or over torquing during use (too much feed and/or speed). Granted that may be "out of proper use" but in a shop full of people, the only person that ever made a mistake was "Not Me".

Over tightening and/or over torquing during use (too much feed and/or speed). Granted that may be "out of proper use" but in a shop full of people, the only person that ever made a mistake was "Not Me".

Hmmm, I suppose you can crank down hard enough with the chuck in a fixture to overtighten it like that. I've been using ER collets for about 20 years and never heard you can spring one - learn something new every day.

I do know that an ER collet is most accurate at or near the larger end of its range. When you crank down on a smaller diameter, even within the claimed range of the collet, you lose accuracy. I figured this out while cutting a Woodruff key slot where being a tenth or two off is the difference between an interference fit and a slip fit. For that kind of cutter I now buy a metric collet if the tool shank is closer to the metric size than an imperial. It makes all the difference.

My iscar er40 collets are metric I believe, but list the standard dimension as well, like the 3/4 collet says 3/4 as well as 19-20 or whatever.
And over torquing? I suppose thats quite possible on the little guys (er16-25) but you'd be hard pressed to torque a 40 at max torque with the wrench that's supplied with the chuck.... especially if you change collets and tools while it's in the spindle

Yeah, I agree. Generating 135# of torque with a collet wrench on a spindle mounted chuck isn't easy to do, much less over-torquing it.

Hi.

The collet types mentioned are quite small - the ER25 go to only 16mm.

I would (and I have) go for a nice second hand set of Pratt-Burnerd multisize collets.