Newbie Collet Question

G8R151

Registered
Registered
Hello all. Need some help with collet choice. I'm new to machining and need some help figuring out what type collets I need. I have a PM 1236 lathe and for now I'm tinkering with stock 2 inch or smaller. I have made some things I thought turned out really well, but when I finished most of the work then flipped it over in my 3 jaw chuck it scratched the finish I had on it. I have always been self taught, but I'm having trouble figuring out what type collets I need. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Tough to say for the size of material. Most collets go up to around 1" plus a little. How about making, or buying, some soft jaws for your chuck? If you have two piece jaws this would be a good alternative.

Collets are nice for certain work holding, but they are not a game changer. I got along very nicely for 30+ years before getting a collet set up. They are handy, but they don't really add to your capability (in my experience). Why don't you use the 4 jaw chuck? As Paul said, soft jaws are great, also really planning your work steps. Can you leave the work piece long and machine it all in one grip, then cut the "handle" off? Can you machine that component between centers? Have you tuned your chucks (what sort of runout are you getting)? How good do you need? Collets are not perfect either.

There is often more than one way to get the job done.

Your lathe has a MT5 taper spindle so you would typically use 5C collets, which limit you to 1 1/8" max diameter basically. But it looks like the spec sheet for your lathe lists a collet chuck, instead of a drawbar, but you are still limited to 1-1/8" 5C collet size. You would need to determine if you want to buy a couple of 5C collets based on the common size you turn or a set (increments in 1/8", 1/16", 1/32", 1/64" or metric), it's a matter of cost.