new to me grizzly g4000 9x19 need tooling??

dasboat

wannabe chipper
Registered
hey guys i just got me a used little 9x19 and would like to know where is the best place for me to find/buy some tooling for it in the kelowna area? i am a total noob on this lathe but want to learn as much as i can with it thanx

Have you considered what type tooling you want? Carbide inserts? HSS bits? Grizzly has a 7 piece carbide set that will work on that lathe. Comes with 1 set of inserts and replacement inserts can be had at places like Shar's or ebay for a good price. Enco has 15% off through today, don't know how shipping works to BC from Nevada, USA. They have a good selection of square and round HSS tool bits you can use to make your own. You can apparently find lots of used HSS bits on ebay that you can regrind.

Dave

thanx i have not thought about what parts i need yet i just wanted some common ones to get me started to play with until i get it figured out. i have looked at grizzly at these but not sure they are any good? G9776 Carbide-Tipped Tool Bit Sets - 3/8" 20 pc and for 23 bucks plus the ride i thought they might get me started?

I've heard that the brazed tip tools you mention don't work well. They have bad geometry and you need an expensive grinder to fix them. I was thinking about Grizzly T10293 for example.

Dave

oh ok thanx. i just need something to play with it.i would like to try and cut some threads on some alum. i think i have a couple 1/2" hss that came with it . i will see what i can find around town here

I outgrew the brazed on carbide tools in about 2 weeks. I researched tooling heavily for my G4003G and here's what I ended up getting...