New Sidney Lathe Needing Parts

dcheff

Active User
Registered
Please forgive my ignorance, I am just a hobby machinist, not a professional so I do not know a lot of the names or proper nomenclature for what I am talking about.

I just got a sidney lathe, I havent even gotten it powered up yet but I do know I am missing one of the half nuts on the carriage.(not sure what it runs just yet, will figure that out tomorrow and take a few pictures also.)

Also looking for new brass wear plates for the carriage, where it rides on the bed. i figured since I have it apart to paint might as well replace some wear items. Oh and the wiper seals or leathers for the carriage too.

Last question for now, where can I get a keyed shaft that is 88" long? everything I am finding is only 72 inches maximum. I need 3/4 od with a 3/16 keyway. idiots who loaded it up just slung chains around it.

one last thing just popped into my head. I am in need of a tool post holder like a dorian or what not. would prefer used.

I just realized that aside from missing the half nut it is also missing the thread gage. Any idea where I could get one that would work for it?

dscheff,

I assume that you mean the threading dial instead of thread gauge.

Yes that's what I meant

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk

OK.

Half nuts come in matched pairs. If the PO actually only installed either the upper or the lower half, when you find a replacement for the lead screw, don't try to use it until you find a complete half nut. If you do, you will quickly be looking for another lead screw.

It is sometimes possible to straighten a lead screw. Have you considered trying that? Or having someone do it?

How much of the original lead screw isn't threaded? Probably not as much as 16" but I don't know that. What I was thinking about (and I know that this has been done on other machines) is splicing a length of solid round onto the end of the threaded bar.