New mini-lathe user question

shorton

Active User
Registered
I'm a mentor for a small high school robotics team. I just got a min-lathe for the kids to use, but first I have to learn how to use it :). I'm an old engineer (so not a complete dummy) but I'm no machinist by any stretch. I have a small mill, a CNC router, so I understand speeds and feeds, but have no metal lathe experience.

I've read all about grinding my own HSS tools, and I plan to work up to that. But right now I don't have a suitable grinder, or time, so I've taken a temporary measure and bought some insert tooling from LMS. I also ordered some HSS inserts as I understand at the mimi lathe speeds HSS will likely be better. I will be using some 1" 6061 Alu rod to start playing with.

My first question is on positioning a tool. I'm not sure what position to orient an insert relative to the workpiece. That is, what angle to orient the shaft of the tool relative to the axis of the workpiece. Can someone explain or point me to a photo of how I should orient the/a triangular tool? I'm going to use these for now:
http://www.littlemachineshop.com/products/product_view.php?ProductID=1669&category=
The come with carbide, but with their advise I also ordered:
http://www.littlemachineshop.com/products/product_view.php?ProductID=1724&category=-1550042347

Thanks,
Scott

Those cutting tools are designed so that the user places the top edge of the tool exactly perpendicular to the center line of the workpiece. In practice you can get away with a hair under the centerline, but never over.

Those cutting tools are designed so that the user places the top edge of the tool exactly perpendicular to the center line of the workpiece. In practice you can get away with a hair under the centerline, but never over.