New member looking for help with a mold plug.

Mountain Man

Registered
Registered
I've been building competition model sailplanes for about 60 years. I recently purchased a 3 axis CNC router. (x=6", y="35.5", x=24")
I use the machine to cut ribs & formers and to make mold plugs & negative (female) molds for fuselages and hollow molded wings.
Most of my work, now, is with composite materials like Carbon, Kevlar and Glass.
My most recent project is a fuselage pod 32" long and 2.5" in diameter. It is a basic cylinder, tapered on both ends, with a hatch area cut out. The tough part is.... the cylinder does not have a straight center line. It is "drooped".
The "droop" makes using a normal lathe impossible.
I machined a beautiful plug on my CNC router using epoxy soaked MDF but I would like the plug to be more durable. In the past I have made both steel and aluminum plugs on the lathe and then milled in the hatch area. My router won't handle that.

I'm looking for a machinist willing to tackle the job. I will e-mail .iges/.igs files of the plug. An estimate of cost would be important because I may be asking for something I can't afford.

Jim

Hi Jim,

I saw your post in the intros, and followed it to here. I have a question about your CNC router.

I have seen many times people treating aluminum much like hardwood; using carbide blades/bits on table saw, mitre saws, and even hand held routers to machine it. I have used my mitre saw on aluminum angle and it did a great job.

You believe that the part you need is beyond your tools, but I wonder.....
Is your CNC router frame "stiff" enough?

Obviously I don't want you or your tools getting damaged, but thought I'd bring it up.
Maybe someone else here has some pertinent experience.

Good Luck!
brino

Last edited:
ooops one more question.....

What do you mean by "drooped"?

Is it simply two different centre lines, that could be lathe turned using multiple centre holes, or is it a complex, continuous "bend".