New guy with a new lathe

dennis98277

Active User
Registered
hi guys i am new to maching and just aquired me a craftsman 109. 21270 and i was wanting to know what tooling and accessorys i can get for these new toy. i looked on ebay and there wasnt much and i have the master enco catalog but i dont know enough about machining so i am looking for any help. to give info on what i will be using it for is gunsmith related so steel and aluminun is what i will be cutting. thanks in advance dennis :)

Welcome. I will start with some basic stuff and others will add to this list.

I would start with getting either Southbends How to run a Lathe Manual, and /or Atlas manual (new from Clausings, cheaper then ebay), some sort of machinist text book that the local school might be using. This will give you a starting point and reference. Machinery's Handbook, any edition from let say 1940s to somewhere in the 80s. Used book store again will be the place to look for, either online or store.

Tools wise. Micrometer, vernier, scales, loupe (magnifier), HSS tool bits ( ignore the carbide stuff and inserts for the moment), dial indicator and base, feeler gauges to help setup the tool height, some good grinding wheels and bench grinder (used to sharpen the HSS tools) a full set of drill bits (preferably US made or better quality imports), Imperial and metric taps and dies will be required in the future. There is a topic covering the tooling requirements here, may have to search for it.

Watch Mr Pete YouTube videos, they are an excellent resource.

thanks for the input i will look for the books. i am mainly concerened with what my paticular lathe can use tool wise. since it is a small lathe just not forsure what to get.

http://www.hobby-machinist.com/showthread.php/51-Some-Useful-Lathe-Tools