Need help !! I want to convert Anilam Crusader M to Linux CNC

Harry The Big Dog

Registered
Registered
I Need help converting my 1989 bridgeport with a Anilam Crusader M 3 axis control to Linux CNC. I hired a guy 2 years ago to perform this retrofit. After a lot of money shelled out, I have nothing to show for it other than a dead machine and a box of electronic parts. The guy is no where to be found. In the box is a MESA 7I76 and a 6I25 , small power supply, The mini itx I paid for is missing(have empty bag), Vfd is missing (have empty bag) , Ribbon connectors and a few stands. I am a machinist not an electronics guy. Any body help me ??My son and I have played with machine since 1996 when I acquired it.

Let's start by figuring out with motors you have on the axis drives. This is important, in that Mesa board is a stepper motor controller. As far as I can tell, it will not run an analog drive, like a DC servo motor drive. With the Anilam Crusader M controller, I suspect you have DC servo motors, probably Baldor.

Do your motors look like mine?
IMG_0107Small.jpg

And does the inside of the panel look kind of like this?

IMG_0079.jpg

IMG_0079.jpg IMG_0107Small.jpg

Last edited:
Thanks for getting back to me.The drives are SEM type MT 30M4-59 DC servos.. Looks like the inside of my cabinet.

Well, there is a bit of a problem here, The Mesa board won't run the DC drives.

There are a couple of ways around this; Install stepper motors and drives, or use a motion controller that will output an analog signal to the drives.

I would say that just about any ITX would run the system, I'll look up the part number of the last one I used.

Take a quick read through what I did
http://www.dawsoncontrols.com/millupgrade.html

It's similar than you think. I did 3 BP Boss mills with Mach3 and it's conceptually quite simple even without much electronics knowledge. Big thing is all the little details, and being careful with the wires and static sensitive stuff.