My First Metalworking/machining Project, An Aluminum Knob On The Metal Lathe!

craftedmagazine

Registered
Registered
Finally got over my fear of the lathe and spent some time on it. I am a complete and utter noob, so hopefully I didn't do too many things incorrectly. If you guys have any pointers for me, that'd be much appreciated. I'm using the Precision Matthews PM-1022V, if anyone was wondering.

Great Video! Thank you for posting:encourage:

Fantastic! But now you are making us wait for the next project.

If you had turned the small end facing away from the chuck, you could have drilled and tapped the part right in the lathe thus saving you the extra set up and would have located your tapped hole more accurately.

Last edited:
Good job, but 1 suggestion. Next time make it in reverse, large end closest to the spindle, so you can drill and tap the hole while in the lathe. One machine set-up is easier than two machines. Still a good job for the first try.

"Billy G"

I agree with Bill. That would also ensure that your hole would be centered. Good job though.

Fantastic! But now you are making us wait for the next project.

If you had turned the small end facing away from the chuck, you could have drilled and tapped the part right in the lathe thus saving you the extra set up and would have located your tapped hole more accurately.

Good job, but 1 suggestion. Next time make it in reverse, large end closest to the spindle, so you can drill and tap the hole while in the lathe. One machine set-up is easier than two machines. Still a good job for the first try.

"Billy G"

I agree with Bill. That would also ensure that your hole would be centered. Good job though.

Thanks for the tips guys. This makes a lot more sense! Didn't even consider doing it the other way around.