• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

My first lathe ... 618

GaWajn

Iron
Registered Member
I recently purchased this Atlas 618 lathe. It is in working condition ... but has a few issues. I will be needing your help with getting the machine to run as it should. I will be posting my questions in this thread, as they arise from my inspection/testing.

I have read just about everything I could find on this site regarding the 618 ... but being a complete novice ... a lot of the information is a bit over my head.

For today ... I will just post the pictures identifying the lathe. The questions will come later. Thank you for taking the time to read this post.

IMG_1471.jpg

IMG_1476.jpg

GaWajn

Iron
Registered Member
Here are a few more pics ...

IMG_1472.jpg

IMG_1473.jpg

The gears on the spindle look very dry ...

IMG_1474.jpg

The whole assembly for tensioning looks to be loose ... probably bad bushings etc ...

IMG_1475.jpg

I don't care for the maretts wiring job ... looks like a 3/4 HP single phase wired for 115 Volts. I will be looking into improving the wiring job and maybe convert to 220 Volts.

IMG_1477.jpg

I think that is a live center on the tailstock ... I don't know much about these things ...

IMG_1478.jpg

Now that's a funky looking tool setup on the tool post ... that ain't gonna work for me. If I can get the lathe working correctly ... I will be getting a starter kit from the Little Machine Shop.

IMG_1479.jpg

IMG_1480.jpg

The cross slide screw has major up and down play. I will include a short video showing this. I can't believe that is correct!

IMG_1481.jpg

Looks like the belt will need replacing ...

dlane

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium
Welcom to the site, I think ied first get the correct oils for it ,Way oil , spindle oil, a manual for it should be in the downloads
That is a odd looking tooling setup

DaveInMi