Moving 12x36 Lathe Down Into Basement

Splat

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
So I managed to scoop up a Grizzly G4003G 12x36 lathe over the weekend. It's gotta go in the basement now and I've run into a snag. It weighs about 1000lbs and there's 6 stairs and then the basement floor. I've got nothing to secure a winch to, unless my neighbors let me roll my truck thru their backyard.....but that ain't gonna happen. I was thinking of using two 4x4's together across the front opening of the Bilko door frame and use a Come-Along to ease down the lathe. I put 3/4" plywood over the stairs. This is kinda how Nelson moved his SB Heavy 10. I've never used a Come-Along before. I know it can raise/pull in a increments via the pawl but I didn't know it could lower loads in a controlled manor. I thought you could only release the load totally in an all-at-once way. Am I wrong? I just read that a lever chain hoist can be operated vertically or horizontally so methinks I'm going to go with that. Any other ideas appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited:
Dig a post hole 24" deep and cement a chain or heavy duty eye bolt into it. Chances are you'll be moving more stuff in and it will be there when you need it. I have 2 of them outside my garage and one in each corner inside. Makes moving stuff easy. A chain hoist is much easier to control when lowering a load than a come-along.

When you refer to a come-along, what you really want is a "CM puller" or something similar, not one those absurd cable and pulley finger-pinchers. They have a brake inside so you can let the load down gradually and you can also change direction with the flick of a lever. I think the import-guys call them manual chain hoists. For around home, I bought a used CM since I used that model many times back in my quarry days.