Motor choice and set up

cross thread

Registered
Registered
I want to power a small mill , I have zero knowledge of how to make/set up a PWM or SCR . I would like to buy off the shelf , motor and controller . I'm not even sure a DC motor is a good idea , also I'm not against a counter shaft but if it is not necessary that would be nice . I do want to be able to control speed by a dial . Please let me know your thoughts ., links will be helpful
What do you think about this ?
Thanks , Mark .

I want to power a small mill , I have zero knowledge of how to make/set up a PWM or SCR . I would like to buy off the shelf , motor and controller . I'm not even sure a DC motor is a good idea , also I'm not against a counter shaft but if it is not necessary that would be nice . I do want to be able to control speed by a dial . Please let me know your thoughts ., links will be helpful
What do you think about this ?
Thanks , Mark .
The motor is way too small for any meaningful work. 2.6 in-oz. of torque is less than 1/4 lb-ft.. And that is at rated rpm. When you slow the rpm, the torque will drop even further.

There is a serious mismatch between your motor selection and the controller. You need to match voltages. A permanent magnet brush motor doesn't use a field winding so the controller doesn't need that feature.

I was hoping you would read this RJ , well like I said (think Sargent Shultz) . Suggestions ?

What size mill? That makes a big difference. My RF30 clone has a 2 hp. motor and geared down to the lowest pulley speed, has probably 75 lb-ft. of torque at the spindle. My Tormach has a 3 phase 1 hp. motor. It has a VFD and on the low speed belt configuration and at the lowest speed of 150 rpm, the available torque is virtually unusable. I can't even countersink a hole with it. It's OK at higher speeds but I can't say it's overpowered.