Manual Lathe Job, Start To Almost Finish

Wreck™Wreck

Silver
Former Member
The site Owner would like some input from experienced machinists, I do it for a living so will document a rather tedious job that I began today. Can not show the finished product however.

The blanks are 304 SS, laser cut from 1/2" thick plate, 23 5/8" ID X 25 1/2" OD +- 1/8". The finished parts are roughly 23 7/8" ID X 24 3/8" OD.

They bought a 34" DIA X 3/4" thick 6061 aluminum disk to hold the parts, this I will bolt to a 22" faceplate in a lathe on top of eight 4 1/2" long by 2 1/2" Dia stand offs and secured by 5/8-11 fasteners. I had to take the gap out of the lathe which is every bit of 18" long leaving the toolpost 12 or more inches away from the faceplate hence the standoffs.

I began by laying out the faceplate hole positions and drilling eight 15/16" holes in the disk using an enormous Cinci/Bickford radial drill press, this is not an enjoyable machine to use.

ring%20plate%20raidal%20drill_zpszgysvf4z.jpg

Then laid out the holes for 12 clamps inside and 12 outside then drilled and tapped them 3/8-16 with a manual Bridgeport knee mill whilst someone on another mill was making the clamps out of 1" X 5/8" X 2" long CRS with a 3/4" long slot for the fasteners and a 1/4-20 tapped hole near one end, we used SHCS with the heads bearing against the fixture.

It now lookd like this when I left a 3:00 today, tomorrow I will attach it to the lathe faceplate and begin turning, this setup does not inspire confidence.

More to follow, wish me luck

ring%20plate_zps2bydopws.jpg

Pix are absent

Stan,
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I got Pix just fine. Good luck on this one. I can't add much other input, this is above and beyond what I even pretend to know about.

Chuck the grumpy old guy

Looks like it will hold. If I'm seeing it correctly, maybe you could add some alignment pins in the clamping bars, see skecth.

image.jpg