1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Dismiss Notice

Mach3: Unexpected Response for Steps per Inch

Discussion in 'CNC IN THE HOME SHOP' started by angelfj1, Aug 2, 2017.

1. angelfj1

angelfj1 United States Active User Active Member

City:
    Downingtown
    State:
    Pennsylvania

-Return to Top-

Hello:

Although I have completed the CNC conversion, I'm really having fits with the motor tuning and axis calibration. Something very strange is happening. I would like to take this real slow because I have limited experience with Mach3. I will list some basic facts regarding my cnc conversion.

My machine is a Grizzly G0704. Although this started out as a Hoss Phase II project, I changed my plans and purchased a pre-engineered kit supplied by David Clements, aka ArizonaVideo99. I had the saddle machining done by a local shop. They also did the oiling groves. Everything came together nicely.

Details
    The ballscrews/nuts are metric - 5mm pitch
    The steppers and other electronics are:
    2 - KL23H2100-50-4B, 570 Oz-In (NEMA 23, for X & Y axes
    1 - KL34H295-43-8A,960 Oz-In (NEMA34), for Z-axis
    Drivers
    3 - KL-5056D Digital Bipolar Stepper Motor Driver, set for 1/8 micro-stepping
    BOB - C10, parallel port interface

I'm using Mach3, running on Win XP. I currently have the evaluation (free) version, but intend to purchase a license as soon as I iron out the strange symptoms I’ve experienced.

I have been able to get everything connected and responding to mach3. I can jog the axes.

My problem started when I tried to use motor tuning.

I set the X, Y and Z velocity and axxeleration very conservatively, 20 inches/min, and 3 in/sec/sec

I calculated the steps per inch first before trying the Mach3.

I did it like this:

My stepper motors - 200 steps/rev
    Micro-stepping - 8 pulses/step
    So, 200 x 8 = 1600 pulses/rev