Looking for 18-20x80 used lathe in working condition

Bob V

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Hello and Merry Christmas,
I'm a farmer in upstate NY (Gorham), and I have a friend/neighbor who does all kinds of mechanical work on farm equipment and yellow equipment.
Part of what he does is rebuild hydraulic cylinders- some of which are quite large off excavators etc. He tells me some of the rods of these cylinders need new threads and truing on the ends. I read your advice on this type of post so here goes:

Used Lathe, prefer ready to work, but would do minor repairs maintenance.
Requested 72-80 inch bed.
Would need steady or follow rest for these long pieces; he needs to work on the ends of these rods (not the chrome plated portion).
Budget $5-10K, maybe a bit higher for the right machine.
3-4" spindle bore.
Needs to thread both SAE and Metric threads.
Setup not a problem, level concrete floor in his shop.
Has skid steers etc to unload and move machine.
220v power single phase but can use 3 phase converter.
Truck delivery fine or I might get the machine for him with my pickup and a trailer.
Tooling: he has a good sized lathe now so probably does not need much tooling beyond the steady or follow rest.
Will be working on 1045-1050 steel- which has been induction hardened and chrome plated, but he only needs to work on the ends of these rods--not the chrome plated portion. (?1045 IHCP) and he anneals the ends before machine with a torch.

We both thank you for your advice!
Bob V

PS: I did a brief search on the machines for sale but couldn't get the search engine to come up with anything!

Last edited:
Forget about single phase. You will need a rotary phase converter, that will help open you up to more machines.
You will have to keep searching for a machine to become available, or go to a machinery dealer, OR look at the auctions.

Thank you, woodchucker,