LMS Coaxial Centering Indicator- any good?

I would like to get the indicator but I have a Benchmaster verticle mill, so there won't be enough verticle space.
John

Yeah, I think that is the biggest problem with them-they need some serious real-estate on a mill. I personally think one's money is better spent on a good DTI and Indicol setup that can also be used for other purposes as well.

Be aware that no matter who makes the coaxial tools they are delicate and require care and feeding. Fellow H-M forum member Ken_Shea reported the following about his Blake:

Haven't used this unit in well over a year and now it is sticking and not all that free turning. My question is, any of you guys taken one apart for cleaning, oiling then regret it? Could send it back to Blake but not all that excited about dropping half it's worth new just to clean oil.

Thanks ken
Link to complete thread here: http://www.hobby-machinist.com/showthread.php/7934-Blake-Coaxial-indicator-question

Since I have one in similar condition I have been digging for information and found following link to a company that sells and services the Blake Coaxial Indicator and what they have to say on the subject of the Blake vs other brands, no bias for sure. :lmao::lmao: http://longislandindicator.com/p5.html

Just make sure that you purchase from someone whos controls the quality of the product they distribute and you purchase. Then take care of it. Keep it clean, fed quality instrument oils, and away from temperature extreme changes. A good "quality controlled" coaxial indicator of any manufacture should serve us hobby machinist well.

The following link is just for information in case your interested about what is inside one of these tools: http://www.blakemanufacturing.com/pages/products_list.php

Benny
The Orphanage Never Closes