Living without Power down-feed?

BellyUpFish

Active User
Registered
I probably shouldn't be asking this, as the price difference isn't all that big, but I'm a fairly amateur "machinist" if you could even begin to call me that.

But more and more lately I find myself wanting or thinking I can justify a milling machine.

I've got a PM1030 lathe and am leaning towards a PM932M for a mill. Have to color match the equipment, I guess. Grizzly green might look funny in the shop. LOL

Anyway, I guess I'm trying to justify the cost of the PM-932M-PDF.

Can the extreme hobbyist live without such features?

I have a PM45M with power downfeed, the predecessor to the PM932, and I had the same reasoning. I went with power downfeed cause it didn't cost much more & to add later would have to be a custom modification. I learned to mill on a BP & I loved the power downfeed feature. Not something that is used often (not for me anyway) but when I want to use it I'm glad I have it.

Downside is the quill handle configuration gets in the way sometimes. Not that big of a deal, just have to keep in mind of it during setup. The bottom handle is used to engage the powerfeed & it's the same length as the top handle. Some people shorten it, I just work around it.

One can argue having PDF is just another assembly of moving parts that can fail, I've never had a problem with mine though & I've used it for light drilling. Very handy when I had to make hundreds of these little parts with 2 drilled holes in each. I also love using it with a boring head.

I could definitely live without it though. If I could have it my way with the PM45M I have now, I'd love to have the tapping feature instead of PDF that is found on a very few version of the RF45 (don't think Matt offers it). It's not the same as power downfeed though but I think it would be much more useful.