Little lathe project - TIG cooler fitting

Ngray

Active User
Registered
So since my last post, a HF mini mill showed up and a Miller Syncrowave 250. No biggie. (!!!!):whistle:

Anyway, I decided to do my own TIG cooler for it, the first step of which is reducing the LH 5/8 18 TPI straight (not pipe) thread down to a 3/8 hose. Now, I can buy these on fleabay, or through welding shops, and realistically, before I tig up my tank, I will. I just needed something for the week. So I made this:

photo.JPG

Now, I realize it looks like snot, and that's fine. I didn't do finish passes on anything except the threads. But for my first try at LH threads (yes, they're backwards), and threading in general (no I've never done them before) I'm pretty pleased.

Also, if you ever posted anything useful on threading on a lathe, pop yourself a beer and pat yourself on the back. I probably read your post :)

I'll post more pictures of the cooler once it doesn't look so terrible. Right now it's a pump, a torch, and a bucket. I'm just letting it recirculate until I get every leak out. Getting the ACTUAL cooler will happen when I make a stand for the 250. I really really want the cooler UNDER the welder. No reason why. :whiteflag:

photo.JPG

You'll like the cooler torch if you do much welding. My favorite welder uses just tap water and let's it drain into the city sewer. And he TIG's A LOT. It doesn't seem like more than a trickle. His setup sort of exposes the flow for observation purposes near the welder . The flow piping is attached to the wall beside it.

Yeah, I thought about that, but I have no water in my garage, would have to chase a hose through the house! Anyway, the cooler makes for a good project. I'm currently drawing it up to sit under the welder, as I don't have the stones to design a water cooler over top of my welder :)