Lincoln SA 200 Project

David

Active User
Registered
As if I need another project! Thought I would show some photos of a welder project that I have been working on for the last several months as time allows.

After selling my Miller Legend machine a couple of years ago (much regret now), I decided to try to get an old Lincoln for replacement. I located this 1969 SA 200 which had been setting under a tree for several years. After discussing with owner, we reached a very fair price, loaded it up and off we went.

First task was to try to get the machine to crank and see where the problems were. Soooo, after reconditioning the gas tank and applying a rust inhibitor/sealer, I gave the machine a complete tune up and it fired right up. You have to love these old machines!

I am now in the process of getting the sheet metal modified and fitted for new murphy gagues and replacing some of the rusted metal on the hood. I had new doors made and they are now fitted to the machine.

Also, I am changing out the generator to an altenator. Once this is done and a new water pump and belt is fitted, I will be tearing the machine down for a motor job and repainting. I will also be checking the generator components and wiring and fixing as needed. If there is interest, I will continue to post as I slowly progress on this project. I am sure there will be some mill and lathe work on this machine somewhere!!!!!!

Lincoln Redface Welder 006.jpg Lincoln Redface Welder 009.jpg Lincoln Redface Welder 021.jpg Lincoln Redface Welder 035.jpg Lincoln Redface Welder 037.jpg

More photos. Not sure how to post photos with descriptions. Sorry. Thanks for looking

David

Lincoln Redface Welder 038.jpg Lincoln Redface Welder 018.jpg Lincoln Redface Welder 022.jpg Lincoln Redface Welder 036.jpg Lincoln Redface Welder 041.jpg Lincoln Redface Welder 039.jpg