Kozo's Pennsy A3

Inflight

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I'm just getting started on Kozo Hiraoka's live steam locomotive, the Pennsylvania A3 Switcher in 1:16 scale. Today I tackled silver soldering the Bolster Columns from chapter 3.3.

Starting with 5/16" square brass stock, a rabbit is milled on each side of the vertical bars then the thickness is reduced to 1/4" per the drawings. After some accurate hole placement for fixture screws, the parts were ready for silver soldering. I used 45% Ez-Flow silver solder and flux I purchased through ebay and a MAPP gas torch.

Column being soldered.jpg

After brazing, the part is bathed in a 10% sulfuric acid bath for about 5 minutes followed by quick scrub with a brass brush under running water.

Column in acid bath.jpghttp://1.bp.blogspot.com/-hdz4H4FOF...AA4/Q99BbNacs6g/s1600/Column+in+acid+bath.jpg
Here you see a rejected component in the pickling solution.

Only one joint is solders at a time. So, the components were then disassembled, sanded / filed, then fluxed and soldered again. The final step is to file down the screw heads and excess material. This image shows the components at different stages of completion along with one of the fixtures.

Columns silver soldered.jpghttp://2.bp.blogspot.com/-n8YjIV7zw...TOBS8C9uq1A/s1600/Columns+silver+soldered.jpg
You can just see that solder was drawn up around the head of the screw.
This a sign of proper penetration and a good joint.

- Matt

Column being soldered.jpg Column in acid bath.jpg Columns silver soldered.jpg

Hey, Matt.
I realize this thread is a bit long in the tooth but I'm just wondering how your a progressing with your A3? I am assuming that 1:16 is 1.6" / foot?