[How-To] K&T Walker Turner 16" Wood Metal Bandsaw

silverforgestudio

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter
I've got a beautiful 16" Walker/Turner (Div of Kearney and Trecker- thus this forum)

But I have a problem- the transmission is stuck! Not in Hi/Low- it works well there...

Its a long post with a lot of pics- so please hang with me and understand Im still learning this stuff!

Here is the face plate- Serial Number 0842 and Model 3331
IMG_20201204_202058985.jpg IMG_20201204_202120157.jpg

Here is the Pic of the speed selector and its "Topped out" position-
IMG_20201204_202148765.jpg

Here is my FIRST issue- I have no idea how to switch/adjust the gear speed- In a recent search I read you should ONLY change speeds while the motor is running- but to me that seems counter intuitive- cannot find anything about this- any experienced K/T guys out there to weigh in on this?

When I got the saw the speed selector was free turning- the problem showed up with the bevel gear and the shafting! The key was turned completely out of the bevel gear- it is on a screw-shaft- here is a pic:
IMG_20201204_202220710.jpg

Now I can get this key to seat and screw into the bevel gear by aligning the keyway and key, and slowly turning it counter-clockwise (here is a pic of the shaft seated)
IMG_20201204_203927421.jpg

SO I am thinking the "Arm" this screw pushes on is the speed selector as well- (In pic above it is the piece at 90deg under the bevel gear with the RED speed indicator/Flathead screw on.

IMG_20201204_202245711 (1).jpg
IMG_20201204_202256167.jpg

There are TWO knurled collar rings below the bevel gear. On the screw shaft. One above the speed selector/Speed reducing arm and one above (Here is where it goes horribly wrong as I know nothing about this system- this is a guess!). I would THINK this would lower/raise the arm- Anyone know?

It would appear these rings are loose- they free turn on the shaft- grub screws are loose.