Jacobs rubber flex collet chuck noob question.

Morgan RedHawk

Active User
H-M Platinum Supporter
Let me just start by saying thank you to everyone on this site. I am a total noob when it comes to machining, and I have learned a great deal from all of you. I do, finally, feel I have a question worth asking...welcome to the first of many. smiley_abused.gif

Recently, I was given a Jacobs rubber flex collet chuck (and a bunch of collets) with at 91-t0 mount. The lathe I will soon have is a PM1236, which has a D1-4 spindle mount. What would yall say is my best option for this chuck? As near as I can figure, I can:
1. machine an adapter somehow and thread the chuck to it
2. attempt to disassemble the chuck and change the mount to the right type (not sure if this is even possible)
3. sell or trade the chuck and collets for some of the other myriad of things I would like to get for the lathe
4. make a fancy clock out of it
- or -
5. something I haven't thought of

What would yall do if you were in my position? I do want to be able to use some sort of collet system, but I really do not know what I do not know at this point.

Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

smiley_abused.gif

Morgan, I own 2 Jacobs collet chucks with rubber flex collets. They work great. I cannot advise you as to whether you can make it fit your lathe or not, but they are always for sale on Ebay.
I am sure you could buy the correct chuck to fit your mount, keep the collets, and sell the chuck you have.
Don't make a clock.
Larry

I'd sell the chuck on EBAY and buy one off EBAY with the d1-4 mount already integrated into it. Keep the current collets.