Issues with holding end mills in Beall collet chuck on a Sherline mill

neonachronism

Registered
Registered
Hi all,
I have what's essentially a Sherline 5400 mill with a 15" column (I say essentially only since it started off as a vertical lathe column to which I added a base). For those who saw my previous post, I'm back to using the regular column (and I actually damaged the previous column quite badly, so I bought a new one very recently). Additionally, I only just got the headstock; I was previously sharing between the lathe and mill. So while I've been using the mill (and probably abusing it, I'm new to this) for maybe 6 months, most of the important bits are pretty new.

Since first getting the mill, I always felt that it wasn't as rigid as it it should be, only being capable of a 20 or 30 thou DOC and maybe 50 thou stepover with a snail's pace feed rate or else producing terrible vibration and screeching. For a long time, I wasn't sure if that was normal or not - this is my first experience with a mill, so I don't have much to compare to. The main source of doubt was the Sherline insert fly cutter, which would take 50 - 75 thou DOC on an inch-wide part all day without barely a complaint. So for the most part, I was assuming I didn't have the skill level to reach the mill's potential.

I bought a Beall ER32 collet chuck when I got the mill based on all the recommendations I've seen, and have essentially always used it. Well, about a week ago, I used a Sherline end mill holder instead of the Beall collet chuck since I had a cramped setup and the chuck would have run in to a clamp. I was shocked at how much smoother things ran with the end mill holder. I could take cuts there were simultaneously far deeper, with greater stepover, and faster feed than with the collet chuck. I've been using it with the end mill holder ever since, and its night and day. The mill finally feels exactly as I assumed it should.