[How-To] Is this tool positioned correctly?

finsruskw

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
to advance to the left say .010"??

DSCN8018.JPG

Be aware that I am just a beginner, but I think it would be too large a bite, Better to take it off a little at a time,

My hack idea would be to change the lead angle(lay it back), and at .010 face out to make it square. I'm thinking about the shoulder rubbing, and making things unhappy. I just want to see what the experts have to say. :)
Maybe shorten the stick out some too???

Shorten the stick out of the tool , this will increase rigidity. Not sure what he hp of your lathe is but if under 3 hp take a .0020 cut, or what ever your lathe will tolerate. If you want a 90 degree shoulder at the end of you cut leave the tool as is.

Agree, stick out is too long, other than that, fine; I assume that the step was made in multiple cuts.

Benmychree,
Yes it was, multiple passes.
I am assuming here that square with the chuck is the way to do this.
Does the tool holder always have to be square w/the chuck?
I have several pieces to make like this.
A 1" dia. piece, 1.5" long, down to 5/8" on one end for 3/4"

Is CRS best to use for this rather than HRS??
Lathe is 3/4 hp SB 9A

DSCN8026.JPG

The tool square to the chuck is mostly OK, but sometimes, especially on lighter machines, the tool may tend to draw in while cutting, so roughing with a tool with a lead angle may be prefered, or the tool cocked in the holder to provide a lead angle, then finishing with a tool in position like you show. Yes, CRS is best, much easier to cut than HR; if the piece does not have to be welded on to something, 11L14 is even nicer to machine.