Is There an Electrician In The House?

rbertalotto

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Currently my milling machine is running a 1.5hp motor off 120v through a 20a circuit.

I'm converting it to a VFD, 230v single phase in / 230v three phase, 1.5Hp motor out

My shop has a 60a Sub Panel.

I have a 40A/230v breaker running #10g wire, 30 feet to a 50a receptacle where I plug in a welder occasionally. This setup has been in effect for 20+ years and has been working great.

This 30' of 10g wire runs right behind my milling machine.

Can I add another 230v receptacle to this line in parallel to the existing 50a receptacle, or do I have to run another dedicated line for the VFD?

Thanks

I'm not an electrician =but I would run a separate 20A circuit to provide better protection. Otherwise the 50A might not blow and allow something to burn up.

I'm not an electrician but I believe 10 gauge wire is rated for 30 amps. I believe you can get away with higher amps for intermittent appliances like welders within reason. As I understand it, the breaker protects the wiring so a 40 amp breaker would not be appropriate for 10 gauge wire to your mill. Otherwise, tapping into the existing line would be fine but for the fact that it is connected to a 40 amp breaker.

Just my $.02.

Cheers.

Joe

The current wire is one size too small.

Suggestion is to get a replacement for the current wire of the correct size. Your welder will thank you.

Then, use old stuff for a new circuit with proper breaker.

Sent from my SM-G781V using Tapatalk

To answer your first questions: "Can I add another 230v receptacle to this line in parallel to the existing 50a receptacle" No
"or do I have to run another dedicated line for the VFD" Yes
That is if you want to do it properly to code. You may get away with a rigged solution but if you ever have a fire you may be in trouble with your insurance claim for the illegal set up. If someone gets hurt or killed you could face worse...