Introduction - New Atlas Lathe Owner

Red Beard Ops

Registered
Registered
Hey guys,

I made this video as an introduction and to "show off" my new Atlas Lathe. I got this guys from my father who had it in a back shed and am extremely excited to start playing with it.

I'm a knife maker and youtuber... and I plan on using this guy to make fasteners, finniels, pomel nuts, etc. Will probably be making a good deal of tools with it as well.

I've been gathering up a few questions and this forum seems like the best place on the internet to get answers on these lathes. I'm new to lathes... so I apologize if some of these are very basic... newbish.

• How do I classify/name this lathe?
    • Based on the 10D-247 and some other searches I've been doing I think I would call this a 10''x24'' lathe. This first number is the swing,right? With a tape measure the distance between the center and table is about 6'', so wouldn't the swing be a 12''?
  • Does the 101.07361 give a good indication of date of manufacture?
    • Looking though the Atlas DB yall have in the stickies, I only found one that matched and it was dated in the 1030s.
  • Is the vibration in the video normal?
    • It appears that someone installed a replacement motor on this lathe
    • Maybe I need new V-Blets?
  • It had an 8'' chuck on it. This seemed large to me, is it the normal size for this machine?
  • Are there limitations to using 1/4'' tooling? Just seems small in comparison to what I've been seeing online.
  • Any other suggestions on checks, cleaning, tooling, etc
Cheers guys,
I'm super happy I found this Forum,
James
Red Beard Ops

Welcome to the forum. You will definitely get the answers to whatever questions that you have.
Your lathe is an early Craftsman 12 inch lathe. Forum member wa5cab will chime in here with all of the info you need on your lathe. I believe that 4670S is the serial number. That will be the best indicator of when your lathe was built.