Internal threading tool Question

fishingreg

Registered
Registered
I have several different internal threading tools, every one but this one the tool flats for the holder parallel with cutting edge of the tool so the cutting edge hits the material at 90 degrees. This one is angled down from the flats on the tool so when I clamp it into the tool holder it is angled down. It is a cheap tool but I still I don't understand the angle. Has anyone seen a threading tool angled like this? In the picture I could not get the flats and the cutting edge all in the same pic where you could see it good so I just showed the angle of the cutting edge but the tool is sitting on its flat as it would in a tool holder. Maybe it should be like this but it does not make sense to me but I'm fairly new to lathe work, any thoughts would be appreciated.

Attachments

• Threading tool.jpg
    Threading tool.jpg
    110.6 KB · Views: 35
That is a LH threading tool so you would use it on the back wall, in reverse. Despite the angle of the insert, the cutting edge is oriented correctly so it would work.

Yep, I use it to be able see what I’m doing, when threading to stop or ridge. Much easier to see the tool on the backside.

If the insert was laid flat, and relief (for diametral clearance )was ground to said flat insert, this tool would chip very easily.

What you have here is a more robust geometry.

Thanks All,

I probably should have mentioned it was left handed, I do thread in reverse to make it easy for me but I typically use Micro-100 tools and they are all 90 degrees to the work piece and not angled like this so I was a bit scared to use it. I appreciate the help and I will give it a run, I just thought something might have been made incorrectly since it was a cheap tool. I have a boring bar that is about the same angle so I assume that one is ok as well now. I was avoiding those 2 until I knew more. Thank you all very much.