Inside Micrometer or T-Bore Hole Gauges?

jareese

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter
Like the title says. Probably opening a can of worms with this question. Decent T-Bore gauges can be had for quite a bit less than a decent inside micrometer, and I think they would fit the bill...?? I have no experience with either, and only some experience with a micrometer, with quite a bit of experience with decent Calipers.

thanks

Like the title says. Probably opening a can of worms with this question. Decent T-Bore gauges can be had for quite a bit less than a decent inside micrometer, and I think they would fit the bill...?? I have no experience with either, and only some experience with a micrometer, with quite a bit of experience with decent Calipers.

thanks

That all depends on the size hole. I use the T style for anything under 3”. Then I use my inside mic for anything larger. Mainly ease of use.

Cutting oil is my blood.

So 2 things:
1- I have both, I've rarely been in a situation where the inside mic has been usable thanks to the minimum size requirement. So I end up using the snap gauges pretty often. When I need to be really accurate, I use a bore gauge set, though I find myself getting better at the snap gauges.

2- DO NOT buy a cheap set of Snap gauges. I used to use a cheap set, and couldn't come close to consistent results. I picked up a cheap set of used Starretts, and my results improved dramatically. There is a ToT video of him going through a cheaper set and cleaning them up (
) which I saw after the fact... you might have luck doing that instead!

Just getting started, but as accurate as I can get, and afford.