[Newbie] I need help

hh4545

Registered
Registered
I am a newbie when it comes to working with mini motors.
I have a motor for my project that is not rotating fast enough.
I have a Ann Yih mini motor (AM-06 -- 5/6 RPM ). I like the size of the motor, but I need it to go a little faster.
I am not sure of the RPM's that I need, so are there any small motors that you can adjust the speed?
I appreciate anyone's help. Thank you and have a great day.
Heath

That's a geared synchronous motor. Unless you can vary the frequency of the power supply, you can't change the speed, without some serous regearing, and that's probably impractical. It was meant to operate on it's designated frequency, either 50 or 60 Cycles.

Or would I need to focus more on the frequency? Instead of 50/60 Hz, look for a motor that is 100/120 Hz?
thanks again

If a motor is specified to run at a certain speed fed specific frequency, then that's all it will do at that frequency. Theoretically, a 60 Hz motor will run twice on 120 Hz, but I don't think that's your solution. If you buy a motor for 120 Hz, it will run at the specified speed provided you supply 120Hz power to it. If that motor is supplied 60Hz, it will run at half speed.

It's really a little more complex that that, but that's the general idea. I would recommend you find a motor that gives you the speed you need with the power you have available. That's going to be the simplest way to go. Unless you can figure a way to use external gears or belt/pulleys to gain speed. I have no idea of your application or your torque requirements, so take what I say as basic information intended to guide your thinking, and no more.