I am interested in your story

jwmay

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I doubt often come to this forum, because I had been serving as an electrician at work for the last 7 years. My standard advice has almost always been, "hire an electrician" regarding electrical issues.
But I've been reading through, and I see several of you are quite well versed in electrical principles. So well versed in fact, that my own knowledge seems quite shallow in depth, and narrow in breadth.
I want to know if you can tell a story as to how you learned so much. I am a reader, and have studied electrical troubleshooting not only in college, but on the job. I have only ever met a couple people who could find the problem and fix it as fast as I could. But I'm a novice compared to you guys. What gives? What's your story?

Start early like about age 5. Most great musicians start early also. That, plus about 20,000 hours will get you there
I didn't learn Ohm's law until much later, in my late teens, but was playing with electronics well before that. My math skills are terrible, by the way, but I didn't let that stop me
-Mark
PS I always loved Christmas, not so much for the religious aspects, but for the lights. I always looked forward to the lights LOL my grandpa always left a few loose ones on his tree for me to find and fix :)

Last edited:
I go back a long ways. My father was a ham radio operator and that rubbed off. My first job
was at a radio and TV shop. Electronics and electrical stuff has always held an interest for me.
High voltage does not scare me, only gives me a high respect for it. Back in the 70's I built a lot
of Heathkits and Eicos and eventually graduated to building my own radios from junk parts. My hamshack
looks like a disaster to some but all familiar stuff to me. I don't throw much away. I love old tubes
and building old time radios using them. Occasionally I will take on an electrical job that no