How to find the axial load rating of a deep grove ball bearing.

Iron Filing

Registered
Registered
Hello,
I was reading the ratings of bearings here: Timken Deep Groove Ball Bearings.pdf and I couldn't find out what the ratings of axial loads on them are.

Take, for example, the number 628 bearing. It's Cr, or dynamic radial load rating is 3.3 kilo newtons. But the axial rating, Ca, is missing. I don't need much axial strength, 0.5 kilo newtons static and dynamic load would be overkill for my application. My goal is to build a centrifugal mixer, like for solder paste and thermal compound.

How would I discover the axial rating of a deep grove ball bearing?

Thanks

PS: I'm a total newbie here. So if I am misunderstanding something, please tell me.

There is not an axial rating for deep groove ball bearings, for the dynamic load, it is based on the bearing size, clearance and the axial and radial loads ratio and then uses those factors to get an equivalent load that is then used in the life formulas. You can use the tables in the bearing catalogs to calculate it, but the easiest way is to do as Monostre suggested and use the online calculators.

Here is a link to the formulas on the Schaeffler website, the process should be the same for Timken bearings, but you would want to use their tables for the calculations in case the bearing internals are different.

the easiest method would be a calculator like SKF Bearing Select.

These catalogs have always required a bit of spreadsheet work. The calculator is a good shortcut. It's all in metric, though. 1 lbf is 4.448 N.

What you're looking for is hidden in the calculation of P. P is an equivalent load, which includes a radial and axial component. The radial and axial load terms (X and Y) are available but I couldn't find them quickly.

Here's a more detailed explanation. https://www.skf.com/group/products/...rating-life/equivalent-dynamic-bearing-load-p