How to check out a Clausing Lathe

Jonathans

Professional Fish Killer
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I may have the ability to pick up a Clausing 4914 locally for less than $1000. I am a beginner and currently own a 9" SB with no quick change gearing. When I looked at the Clausing today, it appears to be lightly used, and runs smoothly. However, I could not change the position of the quick change gear box other than just moving the shifter vertically. I also could not figure out how to engage the lead screw. There was a lever at the top rear of the lathe that I believe was for the back gearing but when it was slid into the "Back" position the lathe would not turn. Not knowing the machine, or for that sake any lathe real well, I didn't want to play with it much not knowing what I was doing. There is no operator available where it is for sale.
Can someone please let me know some basic procedure I can do that will at least tell me that the lathe is operational and not crashed? I would appreciate that very much.
Clausing.jpg

Thanks
Jonathan

Clausing.jpg

There are numerous posts on all the metal working forums on how to check out a lathe, or do a google search.

That said it might be worth your time to find someone experienced in your area to look over the lathe with you.

Lathes that look good can still be clapped out if the bed wasn't lubes regularly or it was repeatedly crashed. Conversely lathes that are filthy with 50 years of oil crusted on them can turn accurate close tolerance work.

Personally I would be very hesitant to buy a lathe I could not see under power and if possible turn a small test bar up near headstock to check for wear.

Good Luck
michael

Thanks Michael,
I followed some basic procedures that I did find through searches and the lead bar would not engage, nor could I shift the gearbox.
This would lead me to believe that the lathe is not functional, but I posted here just in case there was something particular with Clausing lathes that I was missing.