How Much Chatter Is Acceptable?

Metalshop

Registered
Registered
I am new to machining. I ran a few parts and was getting help on the Fusion 360 Cam forum to improve the bottom finish.

Someone with lots of experience noted that my parts seemed to show chatter on the edges. Is this amount of chatter normal for a PM-833? The person who commented has very high-end machines. They thought that my spindle bearings may be no good. Please let me know your thoughts as this is the first part I have ever made and have absolutely no previous experience.

20221231_083104.jpg

Thanks… Richard

Thanks... This is all new to me so I have no benchmark. I think I will try this with a 1/2" end mill as opposed to a 3/8" next time.

Welcome aboard!
It would be easier to evaluate and suggest changes to your setup if we knew the work piece material (looks like aluminum) and size, spindle rpm, feed rate, end mill type and number of flutes, cutting fluid if any and how the work piece was held for machining. Details matter. ;)

Tom

Thanks Tom. This was machined on a PM-833TV that I just finished converting to CNC. It is the first part completed on the machine. The material is 6061 aluminums. It was machined with a 3/8" x 1 x 3" 3-flute YG1 Alupower end mill in an ER20 collet. I used a Fog Buster with Durakut. The piece was held in a 6" vise. The part measures approx. 2 x 4 x .75" thick. The contour was machined at 3000 RPM and 7 inches per minute. I calculated the feeds and speeds fusing the G-Wizard calculator since I have no previous experience. For what it is worth, I machined this piece as part of a 10 pieces online course "Titans Of CNC Learning Block Series" so I could learn CAM.

Here is a link to the Fusion 360 file if needed:

Thanks.... Richard