How long do sanding belts last?

Asbestos

Registered
Registered
I got a small belt sander for metal and ordered a variety of belts, both zircon and and silicon carbide. the 150 grit silicon seemed to smooth out to a 1500 within about 5 minutes of moderate sanding. and the zircon did not seem to fair that much better. I have no experience with belt sanders for metal but I imagined they should have lasted longer. I got some fairly decent ones, (not HF stuff) Is this normal wear? I searched the posts and there were a few suggestions of brands. Anyone have any that seem to last a lot longer than the others?

I've been using the ceramic belts from Red Label Abrasives (Amazon carries them) and they hold up great. I've ground 9 model tools from mild steel keystock, 7 HSS tools and some mild steel flat stock with the same belt and it still cuts well. I will no longer be using Aluminum Oxide like before. You might give them a try.

What are you grinding? That determines what grit you get.

The longevity of your sanding belts depends on a bunch of factors.

I had a hard used zirconium belt last 18 years on my 6X48" belt sander. That belt finally became so dull I retired it. (but it still could cut wood...) On the other hand, some off branded ones only lasted a month.

Quality: good bonding, particle uniformity and backing strength make for a long lasting belt (and particle type, too). Good belts might be what looks like poor value, but poor belts are worthless.

For instance a 1 X 32 belt sander will not allow the belt to be used for a long time no matter what belt you buy. That's because the radius of the wheels will tend to break up your resin bonds. AND they run far too fast. This is also a tip for the 2X72 inch crowd. Many of them are boasting about material removal at 2000 SPFM. Well that will reduce the life of a belt by a lot. - If you an afford it, or in a production shop, more power to you. 400-600 SFPM is what I have my belt sanders set to.