How I build my Model Engines

rdean

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
This is from RogerL and others

I was wondering if you could do a build tread on just how you make the piston, ring, and cylinder liner. Go over in detail on the process you use to make all the critical parts, Surface finishes, lapping, etc. The theories you use for the design. Also do the same thing for the valves and valve seats. What valve seat angle do you use, how do you cut the valves and valve seats. How do you lap the valves? How do you test to see the valves are sealing properly. I know that I could learn a great deal from your experience on these two key areas.

First the disclaimer I am not a professional machinist I will show my methods of building a model engine. These are not necessarily the right way and surly not the only way to do it but my way.
These pictures are from several different model engine builds I have done and don't show all the operation.

Valves
This shows turning a 5/16" valve using some 5/16" drill rod. Many of my engines have valves made from mystery steel or steel from the local hardware store. This may not be the best selection of materials especially if your completed engine doesn't get run very often or if you don't have a lubricant in the fuel mix to ward off rust. I use a 10 to 1 solution of Colman fuel to 1 part of WD40 in all my engines which is quite high considering that many two cycle engines run a 50 to1 ratio or more.
In this case I am shooting for a valve stem size that is around 0.125 in diameter and some longer in length than I think I will need. I am not concerned if the final size is 0.130 or 0.120 just that it has a nice finish and is consistent along the length. I will try to get close to my 0.125 by filing and sanding the stem but I am not anal about it.
The next operation is to cut the seat angle but remember never remove the part from the lathe between operations. The valve face and stem must be concentric to each other.