How about some Tips N Tricks specific to the small machines and home shop spaces?

RaisedByWolves

Mangler of grammar, off my meds.
H-M Supporter Gold Member
IM a Toolmaker by trade and Im just setting up a small home shop.

Machine score and lathe setup.

Mini Mill Frankenbuild.

In the process I'm finding that what I'm accustomed to doing at work and in my full size shop in the garage, does not scale well to a basement shop inside of the living quarters. Chip control to keep metal bits from migrating on my shoes got me thinking about not only this, but also to the use of coolant and WD-40 and tracking that everywhere my wife does not want it.

For example, at work or in the garage I can spray and blow whatever wherever I want without concern, but with the small space in the basement shop this becomes an issue. Chips getting blown into/onto my compressor or stereo is not ideal, and coolant use can be downright wasteful.

Small tooling only requires small amounts of coolant, so looking around I found these 2oz needle tip applicators from Micro Mark and their brand of coolant Microflow Coolant.

Having received these and mixed up the coolant I found this very handy to put in just the right place in a small amount and the coolant seems to work pretty well. I mixed in 10% alcohol with the coolant, well, because I do things like that regularly as it aids in the evaporation of coolant residue and aids in wetting.

Having a spare applicator I filled that one with WD-40 from a dead can I had in the garage.

Here are the pair on my chemicals shelf ready to go.

IMG_3177[1].JPG

Not sure why the WD-40 is black, but you can see that mixed to the proper concentration I have a half gallon of coolant pre mixed and have barely used any of the pint of concentrate. 2oz of concentrate maxes a half gallon of coolant.

Another idea I had was to hang my calipers up in a dedicated spot so its easily find them when needed.